Call Us 24/7 For Help
Patrick T. Barone
The DUI Book
A Michigan Citizen's Handbook on Fighting a Drunk Driving Case
Receive a Free Copy
of The DUI Book.
Michigan DUI Second Offense
The Michigan criminal status for a second offense is a misdemeanor. The jail time for this offense ranges from five days to one year.
The court will order you to pay (up to thosands of dollars) in fines and court costs.
Being convicted of a second offense will lead to a hard one-year revocation regardless of if you are convicted of OWVI, OWI, UBAL or OUIL. Any alcohol related conviction within 7 years will result in the minimum one year revocation. But there is no guarantee that after one year you will get your license back. You may not. This is why in Michigan we really have lifetime revocation - you just have a right to request a hearing after one year. In addition to license revocation by the Secretary of State, the judge will also order you to have your vehicle immobilized.
Mandatory attendance at a DUI/OWI School may be required as part of your sentencing. You will also be ordered to perform 30-90 days of community service.
The penalties for a second Zero Tolerance Law violation include a maximum of 60 days of community service,extremly high fines, and a maximum of 93 days in confinement.
For second-time offenders, having an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicles may be required as a condition of probation. This device is used to measure the driver's blood alcohol content (BAC) before the vehicle may start. If the driver's BAC is over a preset limit, the car will not start and the probation office will be informed of this violation.
There are other non-court-related consequences that may occur as a result of a second DUI conviction. When your auto insurance company learns of the DUI/OWI on your record, your rates will skyrocket or your coverage may be dropped altogether. The same may happen to your health and life insurance policies, as you would fall into a high risk category.
A second DUI offense triggers the provisions of The Interstate Compact. This means that while you are on probation, you may not be allowed to move to a new state.
Are you ready to fight your Michigan DUI second offense? If so, contact the Law Offices of Patrick T. Barone today.
• The Cost of a Michigan DUI
• The Emotional Impact of a Michigan DUI
• Hiring a Michigan DUI Attorney
• Retain the Representation of the Barone Defense Firm
• About Michigan Breath Test Defenses
• Michigan DataMaster Information
• Call The Barone Defense Firm Today
• The Michigan DUI Book
• Other Problems with the DataMaster Breath Machine
• Conviction Consequences for a DUI in Michigan
• Michigan DUI Counseling Information
• Defense Strategies for a Michigan DUI
• About DUI Discovery in Michigan
• Michigan DUI Investigation FAQ
• Our Dedicated Lawyers and Support Staff
• All DUI Lawyers are Not Created Equal in Michigan
• What are the Potential DUI Penalties in Michigan?
• Michigan DUI License Suspension
• About the Michigan DUI Plea Bargain
• How to be a Witness for Your Own DUI Case
• Michigan DUI Field Sobriety Testing
• Definitions of OWI laws in Michigan
• What is drunk driving Per Se crime in Michigan?
• Michigan DUI Pre-Trial Motions
• Sample Michigan DUI Jury Selection and Trial (Part 1)
• Sample Michigan DUI Jury Selection and Trial (Part 2)
• Sample Michigan DUI Completed and Opening Arguments (Part 3)
• Sample Michigan DUI Jury Trial (Part 4)
• Am I Going To Jail For DUI
• DUI Arrest Information and How the Barone Defense Firm Can Help
• Deciding on Trial in a DUI Case
• How to Beat the Breath Test
• Drunk Driving Arraignment
• The Drunk Driving Pre-Trial
• OWI First Offense Information
• About Sobriety Court Law
• The New DUI DataMaster (DMT) Machine
• Super Drunk Law Information
• Parts of the DUI Trial Process
• Sentencing for Drunk Driving
• About The Barone Defense Firm Team
• Unreliability of Field Sobriety Tests