It is against the law to operate a boat or watercraft while under the influence of a controlled substance or alcohol in the State of Michigan. It is also unlawful to
authorize an impaired person to operate your boat or watercraft. The penalties and long term consequences for BUI are similar to driving an automobile under the influence.
First Offense BUI in Michigan
Blood Alcohol Content Limit on a Boat: .08%
Your boating privileges may be immediately suspended and you driver’s license may be suspended depending on the circumstances of the case. To learn more about your driver’s license suspension, please call: 1 (866) 485-6871
Jail Time for BUI
Up to 93 days in jail.
Can a Boating Under the Influence Charge Be Contested?
Yes, there are many ways to prove that you were not impaired on your boat or watercraft. There are also ways to contest the tests administered and investigate whether proper protocol was followed. Read sample cases.
Will This Show Up On a Background Check?
Yes, DUI and BUI charges normally show up on background checks for employers. A BUI charge could also increase your insurance.
Is There A Way to Finance This BUI Case?
Yes, payment plans with 0% interest are available. Submit your details online or call: 1 (866) 485-6871
Fines depend on many variables, but can range from $100.00 to $500.00 or more.
Under 21 Boating Under the Influence:
Due to Michigan's zero tolerance laws, the legal limit for a boat operator under the age of 21 is .02 percent.
Please choose one of the following DUI/OWI video's below: