Call Us 24/7 For Help
Patrick T. Barone
The DUI Book
A Michigan Citizen's Handbook on Fighting a Drunk Driving Case
Receive a Free Copy
of The DUI Book.
Michigan Alcohol Laws
There are many laws and regulations concerning alcohol in Michigan. These rules dictate who many consume alcohol as well as where and when it may be sold. It is important to understand Michigan's alcohol laws, as violating them may lead to serious penalties, such as fines and even jail time.
The legal age to consume alcohol in Michigan is 21. However, 18 is the legal age to work in a restaurant that serves alcohol as a server or bartender. An 18-year-old may also handle wine, beer, and liquor in a package store.
In Michigan, beer and wine and spirits may all be sold in privately-owned retail stores. Alcohol cannot be sold from 2 a.m. to 7 a.m. Monday through Saturday or before noon on Sunday.
Michigan does have an Open Container Law, which states that no one in a vehicle, even passengers, may consume alcohol. Because of this, opened bottles of alcohol must be transported in the trunk of the vehicle where the driver and passengers are unable to access it.
The legal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit is .08 percent. If a driver is over this legal limit, he or she is considered "per se intoxicated" and will be charged with driving under the influence. The penalties for a DUI conviction include jail time, community service, loss of driving privileges, and fines. Multiple offenders face greater consequences, and may be ordered to have an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicles.
Zero Tolerance laws were passed in order to deter driver under the age of 21 from drinking and driving. The legal limit for minors is .02 percent. The penalties for violating Michigan's Zero Tolerance laws are community service and fines.
Michigan's Implied Consent Law requires individuals who are suspected of drunk driving to comply with an officer's request to take a chemical test to determine blood alcohol content (BAC). Refusing to take the chemical test will result in a possible one year driver's license suspension for the first DUI conviction and a two-year license suspension for the second offense.
If you have recently been charged with violating Michigan's alcohol laws, it is important to speak with an experienced defense attorney today.
• The Cost of a Michigan DUI
• The Emotional Impact of a Michigan DUI
• Hiring a Michigan DUI Attorney
• Retain the Representation of the Barone Defense Firm
• About Michigan Breath Test Defenses
• Michigan DataMaster Information
• Call The Barone Defense Firm Today
• The Michigan DUI Book
• Other Problems with the DataMaster Breath Machine
• Conviction Consequences for a DUI in Michigan
• Michigan DUI Counseling Information
• Defense Strategies for a Michigan DUI
• About DUI Discovery in Michigan
• Michigan DUI Investigation FAQ
• Our Dedicated Lawyers and Support Staff
• All DUI Lawyers are Not Created Equal in Michigan
• What are the Potential DUI Penalties in Michigan?
• Michigan DUI License Suspension
• About the Michigan DUI Plea Bargain
• How to be a Witness for Your Own DUI Case
• Michigan DUI Field Sobriety Testing
• Definitions of OWI laws in Michigan
• What is drunk driving Per Se crime in Michigan?
• Michigan DUI Pre-Trial Motions
• Sample Michigan DUI Jury Selection and Trial (Part 1)
• Sample Michigan DUI Jury Selection and Trial (Part 2)
• Sample Michigan DUI Completed and Opening Arguments (Part 3)
• Sample Michigan DUI Jury Trial (Part 4)
• Am I Going To Jail For DUI
• DUI Arrest Information and How the Barone Defense Firm Can Help
• Deciding on Trial in a DUI Case
• How to Beat the Breath Test
• Drunk Driving Arraignment
• The Drunk Driving Pre-Trial
• OWI First Offense Information
• About Sobriety Court Law
• The New DUI DataMaster (DMT) Machine
• Super Drunk Law Information
• Parts of the DUI Trial Process
• Sentencing for Drunk Driving
• About The Barone Defense Firm Team
• Unreliability of Field Sobriety Tests